[Solved] On-grid PV system with energy storage; DC load  

Hi all,

I am Dipti and I am new to HOMER Pro. I am trying to optimize the size of an on-grid PV system that has energy storage as well. When I try optimize the system, the results always neglect the battery and PV system and take all the energy from the grid. Is there a way I can force system to use the energy from the PV system and the battery? I want to fix the size of the PV system and want to optimize for the battery size. 

I am not sure what I am missing here. Is it because the grid energy is less costly compared to the energy from PV and battery? 

Thank you in advance and I hope you can help me here!

Hi Dipti,

There is a pretty easy answer to your question, in the "capacity optimization" box in the PV window (you can click on the PV icon in the schematic window to get there) there are two other selectables under HOMER Optimizer. Search Space allows you to specify the kW capacity for HOMER to assess, while checking off advanced allows you to set an upper and lower bound for Optimization.

Hope that helps you out.

- AF

Thanks for your help, Andrew. I did not see this earlier. Let me try and get back to you.

Regards,

Dipti

Hi Andrew,

I have a follow up question to this. I have a DC load that needs to be taken care of. I have connected a PV system, a battery system (both to DC) and then a grid with a convertor. What I want is both the PV system and the grid to charge my battery system and the battery system to take care of the load. Or I want at least the grid to charge the battery and the battery system as well as the PV system to take care of the load. Is such a system possible in HOMER Pro?

Hi Andrew,