New user struggling  

Hi
Im an 18 year veteran of off grid power systems incorporating PV small wind with diesel and batteries, both DC and AC coupled, so have a fairly keen 'seat of the pants " knowledge about what works and the expected battery life etc
I signed onto Homer to model a tender, a fairly basic system, a 100kW approx. PV array, a 6000 ah battery bank AC coupled 360 kWh per day, auto start 50 kw genset
I carried out a rule of thumb simulation with pen and paper and calculator to arrive at the battery and PV size, uploaded the load model Ok, managed to get my PV array in, however the issues are
The battery database wont let me ( or I don't understand how to simply do it ?) input the Ah/Kwh capacity of the battery ?
Wont let the genset auto start at battery DOD and load set points
Gives me a whole stack of simulations of different arrays from the library that I have not selected, I have been through and checked that I am only modelling what components I wish to use
This is a supposedly really simple modelling exercise , with an AC couple array, a genset, a battery bank, which of the tutorials will get me on the right track with this please
Thanks ina dvance

Hey Jim,

You can modify the battery capacity by using the "search space" option in the "quantity optimization" field, this will multiply the number of batteries simulated so the net kWh storage capacity will be that number times the capacity of the battery you are simulating.

Modifying the generator operation is a bit more difficult, you can force the generator on at certain points using the "schedule" tab under your generator options, but under standard controller methods the generator will not charge the batteries, solar and wind are preferred. There are a few roundabout ways you can push the system to work in a way that you want but if you really want to dig into custom operation, you will have to model your own controller which is a bit more advanced.

- Andrew

Thanks Andrew,